Advice on Replacing Rocker Cover Valve Cover Gasket?

Hey guys,

So, last week I had a misfire issue, and I had to get a coil replaced at the shop because my OBD scanner wouldn’t connect to my '09 Accent, making it impossible for me to troubleshoot. The shop recommended replacing what they called the valve cover gasket, though the Hyundai parts site refers to it as the rocker cover gasket. They quoted me around $200 for the job, but I found the gasket on Amazon for just $20, so I’m planning to tackle it myself.

I’ve watched a couple of YouTube videos and consulted my Haynes manual for guidance. I also took a look at the service manual, but honestly, I didn’t find it very helpful. So, I’m turning to my fellow Accent owners for advice—has anyone here done this job before? Any tips or pitfalls I should watch out for?

This is my first attempt at something like this. I’ve done minor tasks on the car before, like replacing speakers, headlights, door handles, and the cabin air filter, but nothing under the hood. Needless to say, I’m feeling a bit nervous. Based on my preparation, though, I think I can handle it. Just wanted to get everyone’s thoughts on it.

Thanks a bunch!

Replacing the valve cover gasket is a manageable DIY project, especially with your level of experience and the resources you’ve consulted. Before starting, ensure you have the necessary tools and materials and clean the area around the valve cover to prevent debris from falling into the engine. Take your time, label components, and follow the steps outlined in your manual carefully. Inspect and clean other components while the valve cover is off, and remember to torque bolts to the specified values. Finally, test for leaks once everything is reassembled. With proper preparation and attention to detail, you should be able to handle the job successfully. Good luck!